Washington, D.C. — As part of the University Transportation Centers (UTC) program, the U.S. Department of Transportation (U.S. DOT) selected the University of Maine, Rutgers University, and Pennsylvania State University for regional grants authorized under the Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST) Act for fiscal years 2016-2020.  All three UTCs will receive their first-year funding now:

  • Region 1: University of Maine, Transportation Infrastructure Durability Center — $2,570,600
  • Region 2: Rutgers University, Center for Advanced Infrastructure and Transportation — $2,570,600
  • Region 3: Pennsylvania State University, Center for Integrated Asset Management for Multi-modal Transportation Infrastructure Systems — $2,570,600

In all, 13 UTCs applied to the re-competition for the three regions. The centers focus on improving and extending the life of the transportation infrastructure. UTCs advance U.S. technology and expertise in the many modes and disciplines comprising transportation, and address vital workforce needs for the next generation of transportation leaders.