CHICAGO — Each year, the T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award recognizes an outstanding lecturer and author whose technical paper or papers, published during the eligibility period, are considered an outstanding contribution to the engineering literature on fabricated structural steel. AISC encourages everyone involved with steel construction to submit nominations by August 2.

The award is named after Theodore R. Higgins, Ph.D., former American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC) director of engineering and research, who was widely acclaimed for his many contributions to the advancement of engineering technology related to fabricated structural steel.

Recent winners include James O. Malley, senior principal with Degenkolb Engineers of San Francisco, for his paper titled "The 2005 AISC Seismic Provisions for Structural Steel Buildings" published in the First Quarter 2007 AISC Engineering Journal; Donald W. White, a professor at the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology, for his paper on "Stability Analysis and Design"; Walterio A. Lopez, senior associate at Rutherford & Chekene, and Rafael Sabelli, S.E., director of seismic design at Walter P. Moore, for their paper on "Seismic Design of Buckling-Restrained Braced Frames"; R. Shankar Nair, a principal and senior vice president of Teng & Associates, Inc. in Chicago, for his paper on "Stability and Analysis Provisions of the 2005 AISC Specification for Steel Buildings."

Nominations should include the following information:
•Name and affiliation of person nominated
•Title of paper or papers to be named in nomination with publication citation
•In case of multiple authors, identify the principal author
•Reasons for nomination

A copy of the paper as well as any published discussion, must accompany the nomination. The author must be a permanent resident of the United States, and available to fulfill the commitments of the award.

The paper or papers must have been published in a professional journal within the five-year period from January 1, 2005 to January 1, 2010. The 2011 award winner will give a minimum of six presentations of the lecture on selected occasions during the year.

The award will be made to a nominated individual on the basis of two criteria: (1) his/her reputation as a lecturer and (2) the jury’s evaluation of the paper or papers named in the nomination. The papers will be judged for originality, clarity of presentation, contribution to engineering knowledge, future significance, and value to the fabricated structural steel industry.

A framed certificate will be presented to the lecturer at the 2011 NASCC: The Steel Conference. Co-authors of the paper or papers named in the successful nomination will also be recognized at the award presentation. In addition, the winner will receive a $10,000 cash award.

Send your nominations for the T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award to:

T.R. Higgins Award Nomination
c/o Janet T. Cummins
Engineering & Research Coordinator
American Institute of Steel Construction
One East Wacker Drive, Suite 700
Chicago, IL 60601

For more information about the T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award and its past winners, please visit