Home > Latest

SEAOI appoints new president and governing council

CHICAGO — The Structural Engineers Association of Illinois (SEAOI) has appointed a new president and governing council — all terms beginning July 1.

David A. Fanella with Klein and Hoffman Inc. has been elected the new president; Shane Farr with Hayward Baker Inc. has been appointed president-elect; John Duntemann with Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates has been elected treasurer; and Ken Nizamuddin with Halvorson and Partners will contine to serve as secretary.

The following have been elected to the SEAOI board of directors: Salvatore Di Bernardo, Ciorba Group Inc.; John Notch, Branco Notch Engineering Inc.; and Dipak Shah, Rubinos & Mesia Engineers Inc.

An associate principle with Klein and Hoffman since 2006, Fanella contributes more than 20 years of diversified experience in low-, mid- and high-rise structure design, as well as structural forensic analysis, protection design, and seismic upgrades. He is widely known for his expertise in reinforced concrete structures, seismic design, progressive collapse analysis and blast design, and building code contributions, having authored numerous technical publications and workshops on these and several other subjects, including structural steel design. Fanella attended the University of Illinois at Chicago, where received a B.S., M.S., and a Ph.D in structural engineering.

As the new president, Fanella said his goals for the upcoming year are to ensure that SEAOI continues to provide meaningful and cost-effective continuing education programs and that SEAOI’s refresher course is updated for the new structural engineers licensing exam, create an annual SEAOI event for our Central Illinois Chapter, and review and implement items that have been put together by SEAOI’s long-range planning committee.

For more information about the Structural Engineers Association of Illinois, please visit www.seaoi.org.