Home > Technology + Innovation

SCIA launches User Contest: ‘The Art of Structural Design’

SCIA launches User Contest: ‘The Art of Structural Design’

Herk-de-Stad, Belgium — SCIA launched the 11th edition of the SCIA User Contest, named “The Art of Structural Design.” The global contest recognizes and showcases impressive and inspiring work of the world’s top engineers with the central theme of this edition, Be Part of The History!

SCIA invites all SCIA Engineer users worldwide to participate in this international contest. Projects can be submitted from April 2 to June 15, 2019.

SCIA, a leading provider of structural engineering software, launched the contest in 1992 with dozens of participating projects in several European countries. Since 2005, the company has organized the contest every other year and the number of participating projects has grown to over 120 from around the world.

“We are excited with the launch of the SCIA User Contest 2020. Also, our partners and the entire construction industry are looking forward to this global happening. This year’s contest carries the theme ‘Be Part of The History’ and inspires our SCIA Engineer users to becoming part of history. Even more, they contribute in shaping the structural heritage for the next generations.” said Hilde Sevens, CEO at SCIA.

Contest Categories

The 11th edition is open to all users who are using SCIA Engineer as their structural analysis and design tool. Users can submit their projects in the following four categories:

  • Category 1: Buildings
  • Category 2: Civil Structures
  • Category 3: Industrial Buildings and Plants
  • Category 4: Special Projects

“As usual, the User Contest has 4 categories in which projects can be submitted,” Sevens said. “For the first time in the history of our User Contest, contestants with a smaller building will now also have a solid chance of winning an award in the category Buildings. The jury will divide the category “Buildings” into two equal-sized groups based on the usable area. One winner and three nominees will be selected in both subcategories.”

Jury and Prizes

An international and independent jury of experts from the industry and academia will gather in September 2019 to assess all submitted projects. The main criteria are originality, technical level, prestige and the innovative use of SCIA Engineer.

This year, seven winners will receive a bespoke award and a personalized User Contest book.

Category Awards — One winner and 3 nominees will be selected per category, except for the category Building which exists of two winners and six nominees.

Award of the Jury — The jury will also deliberate on one project having excelled in adapting a BIM workflow or illustrating best practices in sustainability or ecological footprint.

Award of the Public — This prize is to be presented based on the results of a public vote organized via the SCIA Engineer Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/scia.engineer).

The winners, nominees and all other entries will be published in the User Contest book, The Art of Structural Design 2020. This inspiring book will be distributed worldwide to press and media outlets, professional associations, influential key players and peers in the structural engineering industry. In addition, a shareable eBook will be made available.

The winning and nominated projects will also be endorsed for publication in specialized engineering platforms, construction-related websites and several social media channels.

More information and contest regulations can be found on SCIA’s contest website at https://uc.scia.net.