Civil engineering and surveying firms announced the following appointments, awards, and promotions:

CH2M HILL’s Rangesh Srinivasan, Kar Munirathinam, Tim Harrison, Jeff Tudini, and Tom Sandy were selected as recipients of the Water Environment Federation (WEF) 2012 Rudolfs Medal for their paper, “Selenium Treatment of Mine Water Effluent in a Fluidized Bed Reactor (FBR),” which was presented at WEFTEC 2011 by Kar Munirathinam.

Susan Harden, AICP, CMSM, LEED AP, CNU-A, vice president of Planning for RBF Consulting (RBF), a company of Michael Baker Corporation, recently accepted an appointment to the California Planning Roundtable (CPR).

Nick H. Havan, P.E., PTOE, joined Nitsch Engineering’s Transportation Department as senior traffic engineer. He has 26 years of experience in both the public and private sectors, including 14 years of experience with the Massachusetts Department of Transportation.

Wagman Companies, Inc.’s board of directors elected Michael B. Glezer CEO of G.A. & F.C. Wagman Inc. and president & CEO of Wagman Companies, Inc. Richard E. Wagman, who was named president in 1977 and most recently held the position of chairman & CEO of Wagman Companies Inc. and G.A. & F.C. Wagman Inc. will continue as chairman of the board.

John H. Hart, P.E., D.GE, joined CTL|Thompson as an associate engineer. Before joining CTL, Hart was an engineer with Coggins and Sons Inc.

Nathan M. Macek was named a Principal Consultant in the Washington, D.C., office of Parsons Brinckerhoff. In his new position, Macek will be responsible for expanding Parsons Brinckerhoff’s consulting practice in transport project development and finance.

Stephen Lane, executive vice president and chief operating officer for Smith Seckman Reid Inc., was inducted into the College of Fellows for the American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC). The honor recognizes an ACEC member who through their career has elevated the standards of the engineering profession.

University of Nevada, Reno civil engineering Professor Ian Buckle received the endorsement of the members of the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI) to be their next president. After his current service as president-elect, which began in February 2012, Buckle will serve as president for two years.

CH2M HILL appointed Terry A. Ruhl, P.E., F. ASCE, president of the firm’s transportation business. Ruhl previously served as the senior vice president and director of consulting and international operations for the company’s Transportation Business Group, leading the Aviation, Highway and Bridge, Ports and Maritime, and Transit and Rail consulting practices.

Mark M. Scholfield, P.E., completed the requirements for the Designated Design-Build Professional certification. Scholfield is a vice president of Wilson & Company Inc., Engineers & Architects and Alternative Delivery Program manager.

Andy Kikites joined HDR as an associate vice president and bridge practice leader for Canada, based in Toronto. His responsibilities include strengthening HDR’s bridge practice in Canada, while supporting its growing highway design, municipal road design and transit engineering practices. Prior to joining HDR, Kikites was the city of Brampton’s bridge engineer.

The board of directors of Fishbeck, Thompson, Carr & Huber, Inc. promoted six to the position of senior engineer: Ryan R. Eversole, P.E.; Daniel J. Fredricks, P.E.; Carl J. Otte, P.E.; Kyle A. Patrick, P.E.; Steven D. Teitsma, P.E., LEED AP BD+C; and Jonathon D. Yonkers, P.E., LEED AP.

Frank McCartney, former executive director of the Delaware River Joint Toll Bridge Commission, was named Toll Industry Market Leader at Parsons Brinckerhoff. McCartney will lead Parsons Brinckerhoff’s project development, strategic planning, and marketing efforts in the tolling industry.

GEI Consultants Inc. added seven new employees to its project management staff: Laura A. Conradi, P.E., senior project manager; Michael Dargahi, MBA, PMP, senior professional; Edward F. Neuhauser, Ph.D., senior consultant; Shaun A. Roark, Ph.D., ecotoxicologist; Paul D. Thomas, energy efficiency programs; Jonathan D. Goetz, P.E., civil engineer; and Dan Bartel, branch manager, Bakersfield, Calif. office.