Nineteen steel industry associations in the Americas, Europe, Africa and Asia today called for the governments of steelmaking economies to step up efforts to effectively tackle persistent global excess capacity in the steel sector, including by quickly implementing strong rules and remedies that reduce excess capacity, its impact and its causes.  The industry groups emphasized that governments should use all available mechanisms and negotiation forums, including the G20 Global Forum on Steel Excess Capacity, to:

  • Ensure the reduction of excess capacity;
  • Eliminate market-distorting subsidies and other support measures that contribute to excess capacity;
  • Uphold effective trade remedies to ensure a level playing-field driven by market forces;
  • Support stronger international rules against subsidies and preferences to state-controlled enterprises;
  • Enhance transparency and cooperation; and
  • Create robust mechanisms to facilitate the exit of inefficient firms.

The industry groups commended the September 30, 2019 statement by Ulf Zumkley, Chairman of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development’s (OECD) Steel Committee, which expressed grave concerns about the unexpected growth of new steelmaking facilities in 2019, exacerbating global excess capacity and contributing to trade tensions.  Participants in the OECD Steel Committee reiterated the need for further capacity reductions in relevant steel-producing economies and urged members to extend the G20 Global Forum on Steel Excess Capacity past its current expiration in 2019.

“We are grateful for the efforts made to date by the G20 and OECD governments to address excess capacity, and to support a playing field at the G20 Global Forum on Steel Excess Capacity and OECD Steel Committee,” the industry groups said.   “Unfortunately, effective reductions in capacity and concrete actions to remove government measures that distort markets, including raw materials markets, have not been adequate to date.  Efforts by governments to eliminate practices that lead to excess capacity should be redoubled.  We are hopeful that the diligent efforts of Japan, the current G20 Chair, are successful in extending the G20 Global Forum on Steel Excess Capacity beyond 2019, and we urge all G20 and OECD steelmaking economies to pursue all vigorous means to obtain substantive results on the critical problem of steel excess capacity.”

The steel industry groups issuing the call for urgent action include representatives of:  Steel Manufacturers Association (SMA), American Iron and Steel Institute (AISI), EUROFER (European Steel Association), Canadian Steel Producers Association (CSPA), CANACERO (the Mexican Steel Association), Alacero (the Latin American Steel Association), Brazil Steel Institute, Turkish Steel Producers Association, Republican Association of Mining and Metallurgical Enterprises (AMME), The Japan Iron and Steel Federation (JISF), European Steel Tube Association (ESTA), Korea Iron and Steel Association (KOSA),  Specialty Steel Industry of North America (SSINA), South African Iron and Steel Institute (SAISI), The Cold Formed Steel Bar Institute (CFSBI),  Association of Enterprises UKRMETALURGPROM(Ukraine),  Russian Steel Association, Indian Steel Association, and The Committee on Pipe and Tube Imports (CPTI).

#####

Contacts:

SMA – Phil Bell, bell@steelnet.org, 202.296.1515

AISI – Lisa Harrison, lharrison@steel.org, 202.452.7115

CSPA – Catherine Cobden, c.cobden@canadiansteel.ca, 613.238.6049

CANACERO – Salvador Quesada, squesada@canacero.mx,   52 (55) 5448-8162

EUROFER – Charles de Lusignan, charles@eurofer.be,  0032 2738 79 35

Alacero – Fernanda Valente, fevalente@alacero.org, (55 11) 3195-5803

Brazil Steel Institute – Débora Oliveira, debora.oliveira@acobrasil.org.br, 55 (21) 3445-6327 | 6300

JISF – Shigeru Hagiuda, hagiuda@jisf.or.jp, 81 3 3669 4835

Russian Steel – Maria Simonova, info@russtal.ru, 79153226225

CFSBI – Mark Redding, mredding@bargrind.com, 630.868.1234

Turkish Steel Producers Association – Veysel Yayan, veyselyayan@celik.org.tr, 903124663734

ESTA – Dominique Richardot, esta.dr@orange.fr, 33 1 41 31 56 45

AMME – Alisher Zholdybayev, zholdybayev@agmp.kz, 7 7172 689 601

SAISI – Charles Dednam, charles@saisi.org, 27 12 380 0900

KOSA –  Min-Chul Lee, minchul.lee@ekosa.or.kr, 82 02 559 3501

Ukrmetalurgprom (Ukraine) – Oleksandr Kalenkov, office@ukrmetprom.org, 0442790525

SSINA – Larry Lasoff, LLasoff@kelleydrye.com, 202.342.8530

CPTI – Tamara Browne, tbrowne@schagrinassociates.com, 202.223.1700

Indian Steel Association – Arnab Kumar Hazra, a.hazra@indsteel.org, 919958599032

Comments