Tampa, Fla. — The WateReuse Association recognized extraordinary leadership in water reuse during its Annual Awards luncheon at the 31st Annual WateReuse Symposium. The awards program highlights utilities, businesses, and people that provide leadership in advancing water reuse.

“More and more utilities are looking to create a sustainable, integrated approach to water management. This year’s award recipients are excellent examples of how leadership drives innovation.” said WateReuse  Association Executive Director Melissa Meeker.

The following awards were presented:

  • Large Project of the Year: City of Abilene Hamby Water Reclamation Facility and Indirect Reuse Project (Texas)
  • Small Project of the Year:  Town of Davie Water Reclamation Facility (Florida)
  • Industrial Project of the Year: J.R. Simplot Process Water Treatment and Return Plant
  • Agriculture Project of the Year: Napa Sanitation District Recycled Water Expansion Project (California)
  • Institution of the Year: Colorado Water Conservation Board
  • Equipment/Manufacturer Award: H2O Innovation
  • Public Education Program of the Year:  Sustainable Beer Smackdown, Clean Water Services (Oregon) and Milwaukee Municipal Sewage District (Wisconsin)
  • Innovative Project of the Year: City of Goodyear, Arizona
  • Customers of the Year: Denver Parks and Recreation Department (Colorado) and Water Replenishment District: Dominguez Gap Seawater Intrusion Barrier (California)
  • Person of the Year:  Bart Weiss, Hillsborough County Public Utilities Department (Florida)
  • Young Professional of the Year: Jillian Vandegrift, CDM Smith
  • Dave Requa President’s Award, Ellen McDonlad, Alan Plummer Associates, Inc.

The WateReuse Symposium is an annual event that presents successes, challenges, and innovations in alternative water supply development. More 500 Symposium attendees from 34 states and six different countries attended the awards presentation.