BALTIMORE — Avatech Solutions has launched its “Render Us Speechless” contest to publicly recognize the best digital rendering and visualization designers who use Autodesk design and engineering software.

This year Avatech is accepting submissions in three categories:

Manufacturing / Mechanical
Civil/ Mapping / GIS
Architecture / Building Design

Each of the categories will be awarded three prizes — a first place of $750, a second place of $500, and a third place of $250.

Before entering, judges recommend contestants survey the high quality of last year’s finalists by watching a two minute movie on Avatech Solutions’ YouTube Channel.

"As the ability to create realistic renderings improves, companies are continuing to discover the financial benefits of how photorealistic visualizations can help increase acceptance and win approvals of their design concepts," said Larry Rychlak, president and CFO, Avatech Solutions. "As a national professional services firm that continually strives for excellence, we’re excited about continuing our tradition of celebrating great talent and highlighting the important contribution that contestants make in advancing the organizations they work for."

This competition celebrates the industries’ most creative digital designs from mechanical and manufacturing engineers, civil and land development engineers, architectural designers, interior designers, and others across commercial and educational organizations.

Contest Process
Realism of the image, the general composition of the rendering, and overall communication of design intent will be the judges’ primary focus. The finalists in each category will be exhibited at Autodesk University, where industry peers will cast their vote for their favorite rendering.

Winners will be announced in early 2011 and select entries will be showcased in Avatech’s Rendering Gallery at

Contest Deadline
The deadline for submissions is Friday, Oct. 29, 2010. Entrants may enter as many categories as they wish, but the same rendering cannot be entered in more than one category. There is no entry fee. Entries may be submitted via mail or online. For more information, please visit