Reston, Va. — For the first time in its history, two women will serve in the American Society of Civil Engineers’ (ASCE) highest leadership roles. ASCE members have elected Kristina L. Swallow, P.E., ENV SP, F.ASCE, as the society’s newest president-elect. She is the fourth woman to serve in this prestigious office, serving alongside current ASCE president Norma Jean Mattei, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE.

“Kristina is a dedicated civil engineer and an ardent public policy advocate who possesses a wide breadth of expertise,” said Mattei. “As president-elect, she will bring enthusiasm and passion to the position and a clear focus of what is needed to make ASCE the best it can be.”

An active member of ASCE for more than two decades, Swallow is a program manager for the city of Las Vegas, leading a team of engineers responsible for delivering public works projects and planning the sanitary sewer collection system.

In addition to her role as ASCE president-elect, Swallow serves as the first board-appointed governor of ASCE’s new Utility Engineering and Surveying Institute and is a member of the society’s Transportation Policy Committee, which develops and maintains ASCE’s official public policies related to transportation. Among many past roles, she served ASCE’s Region 8, which represents members from Hawaii, Alaska, Washington, Oregon, Nevada, Montana, Idaho, Utah and Arizona, most recently as director from 2012-2015 and as governor from 2005-2008. She served as president of ASCE’s Southern Nevada Younger Member Forum, Las Vegas Branch, and Nevada Section and chaired the Nevada State Infrastructure Report Card Committee. In 2009-2010, Swallow was an ASCE Congressional Fellow, working in the office of Sen. Tom Udall (D-NM), for whom she went on to become legislative assistant managing transportation policy.

She earned the ASCE Edmund Friedman Young Engineer Award for Professional Achievement in 2008, the ASCE Young Engineer of the Year Award for the Western Region in 2000, and the ASCE Young Engineer of the Year for Southern Nevada in 1998.

In addition to the president-elect, there were elections for several other ASCE national offices:

  • Region technical director – Carol Ellinger Haddock, P.E., M.ASCE
  • Region 1 governor (two positions) – John C. Folts, P.E., M.ASCE & Theodore N. Green, P.E., M.ASCE
  • Region 2 director—John G. Casana, P.E., D.WRE, LEED AP, M.ASCE
  • Region 2 governor (two positions)—William F. Brittle. P.E., F.SEI, F.ASCE & Jack A. Raudenbush, P.E., M.ASCE
  • Region 3 governor (two positions)—Darren T. Olsen, P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE & Erin Woodson, P.E., M.ASCE
  • Region 4 governor (three positions)—William D. Dubois, P.E., M.ASCE; John W. Fleming, P.E., M.ASCE & Carol A. Stevens, P.E., F.ASCE
  • Region 5 governor (two positions)—Jeffrey J. Earhart, P.E., F.ASCE & Katherine McLeod Gurd, P.E., F.ASCE
  • Region 6 director—Nancy S. Cline, P.E., M.ASCE
  • Region 7 director—Marsia Geldert-Murphey, P.E., M.ASCE
  • Region 7 governor (two positions)—Scott T. Asher, P.E., M.ASCE & Erin M. Steever, P.E., M.ASCE
  • Region 8 governor (two positions)—Brent M. Borchers, P.E., M.ASCE & Lawrence M. Magura, P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE
  • Region 9 governor (two positions)—Matthew G. Kennedy, P.E., T.E., ENV SP, M.ASCE & Thor A. Larsen, P.E., M.ASCE
  • Region 10 director—Brett C. Phillips, Ph.D., M.ASCE

The officers elected were installed during ASCE’s Annual Convention, Sept. 28-Oct. 1, 2016, in Portland, Oregon.