CHICAGO—The American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) recognized four civil engineers in October at the Leadership and Management Luncheon held during the ASCE’s annual conference.

Eugene Norman Balter, P.E., F.ASCE, vice president and corporate director of construction services of T.Y. Lin International, was awarded the 2006 Edmund Friedman Professional Recognition Award for the advancement of the science and profession of engineering. Balter was recognized for his technical, project management, and leadership efforts for the Cooper River Bridge project—the largest cable-stayed bridge in North America. He served as the consultant project manager, providing design review and construction engineering and inspection services to the South Carolina Department of Transportation for the $540 million, design-build project.

Donald P. Fusilli, Jr., P.E., JD, M.ASCE, former president and CEO of Michael Baker Corporation, was awarded the 2006 John I. Parcel—Leif J. Sverdrup Civil Engineering Management Award. The award recognizes an engineer of high character and professional integrity who has made a definite contribution in the field of civil engineering management. Fusilli, recognized for innovative leadership, sustained company growth, and dedication to the profession, began his career with Michael Baker Corporation in 1973 as an assistant engineer.

James Anthony Rispoli, P.E., F.ASCE, assistant secretary of energy for environmental management of the U.S. Department of Energy, received the Civil Government Award, given in recognition of those members of the profession who have rendered meritorious service in elective or appointive government positions.

Rao Yadagiri Surampalli, Ph.D., P.E., DEE, F.ASCE, F.AAAS, engineer director for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), was awarded the 2006 Government Civil Engineer of the Year Award. The award is given to recognize a distinguished civil engineer employed in public service for his or her significant contributions to the engineering profession. Surampalli, recognized for his professional accomplishments, research, contribution to technical literature and volunteer activities, has been with EPA for 20 years. In addition, he is also an adjunct professor of environmental engineering at the University of Nebraska, Iowa State University, University of Missouri (Rolla and Columbia) and the University of Quebec.