Home > Structures

AISI to co-sponsor cold-formed steel structures conference

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The American Iron and Steel Institute (AISI), in cooperation with the Wei-Wen Yu Center for Cold-Formed Steel Structures at the Missouri University of Science and Technology (formerly the University of Missouri-Rolla), will co-sponsor of the 20th International Specialty Conference on Cold-Formed Steel Structures 2010.

This year’s conference will be held Nov. 3-4, 2010 at the Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark in St. Louis. A total of 1.6 continuing education or 16 PDH units will be available for participants.

The biannual event brings together leading scientists, researchers, educators and engineers in the field of research and design of cold-formed steel structures to discuss recent research findings and design considerations. Eleven technical sessions covering a wide variety of topics and interests will be presented during the two-day event. A volume of conference proceedings will be available to participants at the end of the conference.

Robert J. Wills, P.E., vice president of construction market development for the Steel Market Development Institute, a business unit of AISI, will present the 2010 AISI Market Development Industry Leadership Award at 5 pm on Wednesday, Nov. 3.

The award is presented annually and recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions in advancing the competitive use of steel in the marketplace as a direct result of AISI Steel Market Development Institute initiatives in the automotive, construction and container markets, as well as steel recycling.

The 2010 award will be presented to Roger A. LaBoube, Ph.D., distinguished teaching professor, Department of Civil Engineering and director of the Wei-Wen Yu Center for Cold-Formed Steel Structures.

AISI will join other co-sponsors such as the Cold-Formed Steel Engineers Institute of Steel Framing Alliance, Metal Building Manufacturers Association, Rack Manufacturers Institute, Steel Deck Institute, and the Steel Stud Manufacturers Association in hosting the reception on Nov. 3 from 6 p.m. to 7 p.m.

“AISI has been a proud co-sponsor of the International Specialty Conference on Cold-Formed Steel Structures since it began in 1971,” Wills said. “This is the premier event for industry, researchers and academia to come together to share the latest innovations in cold-formed steel design. It is an important event that continues to positively impact an ever-changing and increasingly competitive marketplace.”

“It is a great honor for me this year to be able to recognize Dr. Roger LaBoube with the 2010 AISI Market Development Industry Leadership Award,” Wills added. “Roger has contributed significantly to the body of research that undergirds AISI S100, the North American Specification for the Design of Cold-Formed Steel Structural Members, which is used throughout the world as a reference for building design. Roger has provided critical leadership for AISI’s Committee on Specifications and Committee on Framing Standards, serving as a committee chairman, task group leader, researcher, author and editor of design standards, technical notes and articles, and ultimately as a seminar presenter to facilitate effective technology transfer. He is highly respected in our industry, and the presentation of this award will be a highlight for all in attendance.”

For more information on the 20th International Specialty Conference on Cold-Formed Steel Structures 2010 or to register online, please visit https://www.ccfssonline.org.