FARMINGTON HILLS, MICH. — On Sunday, Oct. 21, 2012, the American Concrete Institute (ACI) will present five awards and the next part of the commemorative Katharine and Bryant Mather Lecture Series during the ACI Fall 2012 Convention Opening Session.

The Arthur J. Boase Award, presented by the ACI Foundation Concrete Research Council for outstanding activities and achievements in the field of reinforced concrete, will be presented to the recently retired Kenneth B. Bondy in recognition of his dedication to the field of post-tensioned concrete building structures throughout his 50 year career.

The Robert E. Philleo Award, also presented by the ACI Foundation Concrete Research Council, will recognize Michael M. Sprinkel, Associate Director at the Virginia Center for Transportation Innovation and Research, for his commitment to research and contributions in the areas of polymer and hydraulic cement concrete with emphasis on the protection, repair and rehabilitation of concrete structures.

The Jean-Claude Roumain Innovation in Concrete Award, presented by the ACI Foundation Strategic Development Council, will be presented to Neal S. Berke, FACL, Vice President of Research at the Tourney Consulting Group, in recognition of the 100+ technical papers, documents, and book (Corrosion of Steel in Concrete) that he has co-authored or co-edited. He currently holds 37 U.S. patents with several patents pending.

The Concrete Sustainability Award is presented to individuals or teams who have actively highlighted concrete’s role in sustainable construction. V. Mohan Malhotra, recently retired from the Canada Centre for Mineral and Energy Technology, will receive this award for organizing and chairing more than 40 CANMET/ACI International Conferences on concrete technology and sustainability issues. P. Kumar Mehta, Professor Emeritus in Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of California at Berkeley, will receive this award for contributions to ACI Committee 232, Fly Ash and Natural Pozzolans in Concrete, ACI Board Advisory Committee on Sustainable Development, ACI Committee 130, Sustainability of Concrete, and subcommittees. In 2002 ACI established the P. Kumar Mehta Scholarship to recognize students pursuing research on “sustainable development of concrete.”

The Distinguished Achievement Award was established in 2004 by ACI’s Board of Direction to recognize nonmember individuals or associations who have made notable contributions to the advancement of the concrete industry through their support of concrete utilization. The Ready Mixed Concrete Association of Ontario (RMCAO) will receive this award in recognition of their tireless efforts to education and promoting all aspects of concrete and its applications.

Following the awards presentation Bernard Erlin, President of the Erlin Company, will deliver a presentation titled “BRYANT MATHER… So We Will Never Forget Him – Forever,” which will recount Mather’s numerous contributions and work that shaped the concrete industry. Bryant and Katherine Mather devoted a remarkable 98 combined years as members of the Institute. Their individual and joint efforts ranged from both working for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers for over 40 years to serving on Presidential committees at the White House.

The ACI Fall 2012 Convention will be held at the Sheraton Centre, Oct. 21-25. For more information on the opening session, registration, and reduced hotel room rates visit,