Home > Continuing Education

2019-2020 ACI Foundation Fellowship and Scholarship Recipients Announced

2019-2020 ACI Foundation Fellowship and Scholarship Recipients Announced

Farmington Hills, Mich. – The ACI Foundation is pleased to announce it’s 2019-2020 fellowship and scholarship recipients. The ACI Foundation is a non-profit subsidiary of ACI that promotes progress, innovation, and collaboration in the concrete industry through strategic investments in research, scholarship, and ideas.

All Fellowship recipients receive a $10,000 – $15,000 US educational stipend; paid travel expenses and attendance fees to two ACI conventions; and assistance in finding an industry mentor. All Scholarship recipients receive a $5,000 educational stipend.

Since 2012 the ACI Foundation has given more than $500,000 dollars to more than 60 students from fellowships alone. Applications for the 2020-2021 fellowships and scholarships will open in July 2019.

2019-2020 Fellowship Recipients:

Barbara S. and W. Calvin McCall Carolinas Fellowship: Ross Newsome, University of North Carolina-Charlotte

Daniel W. Falconer Memorial Fellowship: Edvard Bruun, Princeton University

Don Marks Memorial Fellowship: Alec Derks, Saint Louis University

Elmer Baker Fellowship: Christopher Bick, University of Cincinnati

ACI Presidents’ Fellowship: Alvaro Ruiz Emparanza, University of Miami

Richard D. Stehly Memorial Fellowship: Joseph DiBucci, Pennsylvania College of Technology

Baker Student Fellowship: Aaron Elliott, Pittsburg State University

Baker Student Fellowship: Ivy Thibodeaux, University of Louisiana-Lafayette

Tribute to the Founders Fellowship: Hope Hall, Oklahoma State University

Darrell F. Elliott Louisiana Fellowship: Anne O’Donnell, University of Notre Dame

Middle Eastern Fellowship: Nancy Kachouh, United Arab Emirates University


2019-2020 Scholarship Recipients:

ACI Scholarship: Muhammad Faizon Qureshi, University of Toronto

ACI Scholarship: Jahanzaib, University of Toronto

Bertold E. Weinberg Scholarship: Anthony P. Becerril, Purdue University

Katharine & Bryant Mather Scholarship: Aaron Miller, Georgia Institute of Technology

Schwing America Scholarship: Tyler Kleinsasser, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Stewart C. Watson Memorial Scholarship: Hosam Sennah, Ryerson University

  1. Gene Corley Memorial Scholarship: Joshua Tomczak, University of Minnesota-Duluth

Richard D. Stehly Memorial Scholarship: David Orense, University of Florida

ACI Foundation Fellowship and Scholarship awards are made possible through generous contributions by donors from the concrete community. Together, the Foundation and its supporters are strengthening the concrete industry by encouraging students to a professional career in the field of concrete. The ACI Foundation is leading the way to ensure a sustainable, successful future of the concrete industry by intentional and focused investments in people, research and technology. More information about each fellowship and scholarship is available at acifoundation.org.