Washington, D.C. — The American Road & Transportation Builders Association’s (ARTBA) Women Leaders in Transportation Design and Construction (WLTDC) Council is now accepting nominations for its annual awards program. Established in 2010, the awards honor the extraordinary efforts of individuals, companies and public agencies that “promote leadership and career advancement for women in the industry through mentoring, recognition, educational activities and networking.”

Awards are given in three categories:

• The Ethel S. Birchland Lifetime Achievement Award — Named after ARTBA’s executive director from the mid-1920s, this award is given to at least one woman who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and long-term service in the industry’s public or private sectors.

• The Glass Hammer Award — Honors at least one company in the transportation construction industry that has innovative programs and activities directed at successfully promoting women leaders within their organization.   

• Future Industry Spotlight Award — Recognizes two women students enrolled in undergraduate or graduate studies at a U.S. college or university who have achieved outstanding academic records and demonstrated extraordinary leadership skills within and outside of the academic environment.

ARTBA membership is not required. Nomination forms are available under the “Awards & Scholarships” section of www.artbatdf.org, and must be received by Sept. 1. Contact ARTBA’s Eileen Houlihan at 202.289.4434 or ehoulihan@artba.org with any questions.