Seventeen steel bridge projects earned national recognition in the 2018 Prize Bridge Awards competition. Conducted every other year by the National Steel Bridge Alliance (NSBA), the Prize Bridge Awards honor significant and innovative steel bridges constructed in the U.S. Recognizing innovative design and engineering, the award is the highest honor bestowed on bridge projects by the U.S. structural steel industry.

The awards were presented to winners in nine categories covering an array of bridge types. Commendations were also given to projects that best exemplified sustainability and accelerated bridge construction. All structures were opened to traffic between May 1, 2015 and Sept. 30, 2017.

This year’s National Award winners are:

  • Major Span — Sellwood Bridge, Portland, Ore.
  • Long Span — Greenfield Arch Bridge, Pittsburgh
  • Medium Span — Colville River Nigliq Bridge, Nuiqsut, Alaska
  • Short Span — US Route 340, Waynesboro, Va.
  • Moveable Bridge — Gut Bridge, South Bristol, Maine
  • Reconstructed Bridge — RFK Bridge – Manhattan Approach Ramps, New York City
  • Special Purpose — Peter Courtney Minto Island Bicycle and Pedestrian Bridge, Salem, Ore.

This year’s Special Award winners are:

  • Integrated Project Delivery — Rouchleau Mine Bridge, Virginia, Minn.
  • Technological Advancement — Folded Steel Plate Girder Bridge, Muskingum County, Ohio

Neponset River Greenway project, Milton, Mass., received a Sustainability Commendation. The Mario Cuomo Bridge project, Tarrytown, N.Y., received an Accelerated Bridge Construction Commendation.

Winning projects were selected based on innovation, aesthetics, economy, and design and engineering solutions by a jury of five engineering and construction professionals — Michael Culmo, P.E., CME Engineering; Frank Russo, Ph.D., P.E., Michael Baker International; Amber Blanchard, P.E., Minnesota Department of Transportation; Tony Hunley, Ph.D., P.E., Stantec; and Dominique Shannon, P.E., Kansas Department of Transportation.

For more information about the Prize Bridge Awards competition and the winning projects, visit

Information provided by the National Steel Bridge Alliance, a division of the American Institute of Steel Construction (